My new favorite vegetable accompaniment – Ginger Miso Salad Dressing …

This is going to be a quick post on a salad dressing that I have discovered and that I am now obsessing over. This recipe recovery thing has been going fantastically well. I have made a couple of things that I am not raving about, some shrimp and scallion pancakes were only okay, and some black beans weren’t particularly good at all, but most everything I have made has been fantastic. This ginger-miso dressing is one of those things.

my new favorite snack…

This is what I think that strange orange dressing that you get on salads with your sushi lunch should be. I have always found that dressing a little odd and lacking. This is the opposite. It is creamy from the mayonnaise, and gingery, and seriously miso-y. And it couldn’t be easier. Everything just goes in a blender and is ready in moments, though I have to say, the flavor has just gotten more intense as it has hung out in the fridge. I have been eating carrot sticks dipped in this dressing pretty much non stop. I have a salad that I make a lot with radishes, avocados and butter lettuce and this would be awesome on it. It definitely should be eaten with hearty lettuces, or those with a significant flavor of their own, like watercress, and it would be great with shrimp. It would probably also make a great marinade. But right now I can’t stop eating it just with carrot sticks.

Ginger Miso Dressing (makes about 1/2 cup)

Adapted from Food & Wine, May 2007

1 tbl minced fresh ginger

1 tbl minced shallot

2 tbls rice vinegar

2 tbls mayonnaise

1 tbl low-sodium soy sauce

2 tbls white miso

1/3 cup vegetable oil

salt and pepper to taste

In a blender, puree the ginger, shallot, vinegar, mayo, soy sauce and miso. With the blender running, add the vegetable oil and blend until smooth. Season with salt (try it first, you shouldn’t need much if any) and pepper.

Leave a Reply

