In which I think of other things…

I made pad thai courtesy of Pim the other night, but I have had a hard time finding the mojo to cook and write about food when this is happening. My heart breaks a little bit more every time I turn on the television, and I want nothing more in the world than to be there, dispensing potable water and hugs in equal measure. Haiti had nothing to begin with, and now they are surrounded by death and desperation everywhere they turn. I have to hope that there is a silver lining in this cloud of destruction, and that Haiti will rise phoenix-like from the rubble, and with this attention and help that they so desperately need and so rightly deserve, become a thriving, peaceful success story. To the people of Haiti: I grieve for you, I hope for you and I know that your spirit is stronger than your strife. You will rebound and rebuild and recapture the spirit and strength that has sustained you forever.

Lucky.

Leave a Reply

