In which we remember…

"There's rosemary, that's for remembrance; pray you, love, remember!" - Hamlet

"There's rosemary, that's for remembrance; pray you, love, remember!" - Hamlet

Crazy week this week. Interns in the office, social events to attend, mysterious inability to sleep very well, and desserts for 75 to make. Friday I did my grocery shopping for the desserts, and then decided to make my new favorite quick dinner. Garlic Scallion Noodles from here,  they can’t possibly be good for me, but it is quick and super delicious.

Starts with butter, then saute garlic and scallions, until aromatics are soft, making sure not to burn them…

The greatest smell in the world...

The greatest smell in the world...

Add brown sugar, oyster sauce and fish sauce…

doesn't look like much yet...

doesn't look like much yet...

Stir together to make a sauce and cook for a minute or two, and then add some egg noodles that you have soaked.

takin a bath...

takin a bath...

Toss in the sauce and cook for a minute or two to combine. Plate and serve…

oh boy...

oh boy...

Kind of monotone, but beware, this stuff is addictive. Garlicky and kind of sweetish, and VERY comforting…butter, sugar, garlic, carbs…awesome. This picture is better if you really want to be tantalized…

Then there were desserts.

I needed to make a couple of different options, and I planned on making about two per person. I decided on small pound cakes that could be sliced and dusted with confectioner’s sugar, miniature tarts (not this size, unfortunately-but I didn’t have to buy a new pan or anything) with lemon curd and blueberries, and a couple of variations on the slice and bake cookie idea from here. I did lemon poppy seed and mini chocolate chip. I also made Dorie Greenspan’sWorld Peace Cookies, which I have been dying to try for awhile and they were WELL worth it. They are delicious. Chocolatey, with chocolate pieces and a sea salt finish that is unbelievable. They all came out pretty well, and none were on their own particularly time consuming, but since I was totally exhausted (not from the baking, mind you, from the carousing and lack of sleep) and on the verge of tears (I am like a small child – I am a very cranky tired person – and you don’t want to see me hungry, meltdown city) this was not as enjoyable an experience as it usually is. However, I persevered, and had way more sweets than I needed for the reception…some examples.

The tarts

The tarts

The mini chips

The mini chips

The whole shebang

The whole shebang

My aunt did the most gorgeous cheese tray, and my pops brought some delicious bruschetta (and all of the wine…I just love when he visits!!)

I would like to live on that tray.

I would like to live on that tray.

a splash of color

a splash of color

When the reception was over we went down to my Gram’s apartment for dinner with the fam. It started with this…

Shellfish nirvana

Shellfish nirvana

You have to watch your fingers around shellfish at a Hargraves gathering. You are likely to lose one or two if you get to close to the raw bar, the way the vultures circle. Move quickly, stock up and step away.

To cap off the weekend, I had a Sunday Funday on the TestaRossa with my aunt, uncle and cousin.

My new favorite way to spend a Sunday...

My new favorite way to spend a Sunday...

Johnny Depp was also there…

The Vajoliroja

The Vajoliroja

Just kidding, we didn’t actually see him, but that is his boat, parked in Charlestown, and it is absolutely gorgeous. I love pretending I am a boat person. Boat people are cool.

And we had some delicious boat snacks…

Add a margarita, and all is right with the world...

Add a margarita, and all is right with the world...

We don’t mess around on the TestaRossa. Food is definitely not an afterthought. Which is as it should be. I have now enjoyed clams, oysters, shrimp, sausages, crudites, lamb sandwiches, rolled flank steak, arugula and goat cheese wraps and some delightful beverages aboard the TestaRossa at one time or another…doesn’t get better than that. Grampie would have loved it. We will miss him.

Leave a Reply

