In which I go running and have a salad for dinner…

It’s like  bizarro world up in here. I am not sure what came over me tonight, but I am not going to question it. If I spend too much time wondering about the motivation, it might go away.

I had a craving for a caesar salad (or is it Caesar Salad, or Caesar’s Salad?) The dressing is pretty easy to whip up in the blender, and I knew I had everything but the croutons. I ran down to the new pasta store to pick up a baguette – I had to pay in quarters because I had broken all my bills to do laundry (most. productive. night. ever.) luckily my friendly mozzarella making man was working, and he didn’t mind, I was only mildly embarrassed.

I toasted the bread for croutons.

croutons

croutons

Caesar dressing is anchovies (don’t tell my mom) garlic, egg yolk, dijon, lemon juice and zest, salt, pepper and olive oil. It emulsifies and gets creamy and delicious.

Hail Ceasar!

Hail Caesar!

I like to keep the romaine leaves whole, for aesthetics mostly, they are pretty when they are whole.

rabbit food

rabbit food

I tossed the leaves and the croutons with the dressing, and shaved Parmesan on top. It was delicious and light and perfect for a hot night with a glass of wine.

The whole is so much greater than the sum of the parts...

The whole is so much greater than the sum of the parts...

ready for its closeup...tastes great, less filling

ready for its closeup...tastes great, less filling

Now I am sitting on the couch, listening to the thunder, staring at a mountain of laundry that needs to be folded, and trying not sweat my face off. My next adventure is preparing dessert for 75 people for Grampie’s memorial reception on Saturday. It should be an adventure. Stay tuned…

I leave you with some of my other food shots from the last week…

Sunday night's pan fried pork chops and panzanella

Sunday night's pan fried pork chops and panzanella

thyme from Grammie's garden

thyme from Grammie's garden

summer's finest

summer's finest

CSA last week...ready for another round tomorrow.

CSA last week...ready for another round tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

