In which I comfort myself by cooking…

My Grampie died yesterday. It happened quickly but was a long time coming. It feels strange. I visited my Gram and Gramp a lot when I was little. I used to go by myself and I thought it was the greatest thing ever. Grampie taught me to ride horses and to keep my elbows off the table. Gram gave me the cooking gene and my first subscription to Fine Cooking. She also had a convertible, which is about the coolest thing ever for a grandmother to have. They had raspberry patches and a goldfish pond, a greenhouse and a closet in their bedroom that connected to the garage. It was a very odd set up, but I thought it was my very own closet to Narnia.

My parents and aunt and uncle and I spent the afternoon with Grammie yesterday, and my parents stayed over last night. When they left today, I needed to cook something.

I found these at the farmers’ market.

zucchini blossoms

zucchini blossoms

Years ago when I was still working at Olives one of the chefs made deep fried zucchini blossoms for a snack before the restaurant opened, and I have thought about them ever since. I have always wanted to recreate them.

I had these left from a couple of weeks ago.

looks like summer

looks like summer

I sauteed them in a little butter with shallots, salt and pepper. Once they were soft, I ran them through the food processor, and added some fresh ricotta. I stuffed the zucchini blossoms with a pastry bag, and made a tempura batter with club soda.

stuffed.

stuffed.

fried

fried

These aren’t standard comfort food, but the process was therapeutic and the results were delicious. The batter was so crispy, and the oil was really hot so they didn’t end up greasy at all. I wish zucchini blossoms were easier to come by, because I could totally impress my friends all the time with these.

I love you, Grampie, my cup runneth over.

Leave a Reply

