In which I fall in love all over again with a vegetable…

If I could, I think I might marry a leek. There would be complications I know, but I am sure I could be happy for the rest of my life.

If you are not familiar with leeks I beg you, nay-implore you, to run to your local food emporium and pick some up. Leeks are related to onions and garlic. They look like grown up scallions. Like this…

hello my love...

hello my love...

When leeks are cooked they get sweet and creamy. I am not sure how or why, but it’s true. And it doesn’t take a long time. I did it tonight in a half hour. Growing up we ate chicken and leeks all the time, brown the chicken pieces in a dutch oven, throw the leeks in the pot with a little bit of olive oil, cook them for awhile until they get soft and slightly brown, add a little wine, a little chicken stock put the chicken back in the pot, throw it in the oven for 20 minutes or so until the chicken is cooked through, and serve the chicken and leeks over egg noodles. But I didn’t do that tonight. Tonight I made a tart. Again. Apparently I’m into that these days. I cooked the leeks with butter and salt over low heat for a half hour. They started like this…

the beginning.

the beginning.

I didn’t get a picture of how they ended because I was eating them with a spoon. That probably could have been dinner. But instead, I made a tart shell…

on your mark...

on your mark...

I filled the shell with crumbled goat cheese, and a layer of fresh onion…

get set...

get set...

And then the cooked leeks…

go...

go...

I baked it for an hour.

oh boy.

oh boy.

Y’all, I wish you had smell-o-vision. It would totally add to the experience. I don’t want to toot my own horn, but toot toot. This was delectable. I will surely be making it again. Did I mention how much I love leeks? The leeks and the goat cheese combo here is fantastic. This would be a great brunch or lunch, too. Or for a picnic, especially if they were minature. I could make fourteen of them, have a picnic with all my friends. Who’s in? I added a salad with the rest of the beets and a little more goat cheese, and that was dinner. You need to make this like yesterday. I promise. And I wouldn’t steer you wrong.

dinner

dinner

One thought on “In which I fall in love all over again with a vegetable…

Leave a Reply

