In which I make tempura, pickled vegetables, and pick up my farm share…

On Tuesday night I made green bean tempura with miso mayonnaise for dipping.  It was delicious and perfect for enjoying the House marathon.  I really enjoy foods that I can eat in a semi-recumbent position while watching House marathons.  Or Law & Order: SVU marathons.

battered

battered

fried

fried

delicious**

delicious**

It has also been delicious cold, even though the idea of eating cold left over tempura kind of grosses me out, and tempura gets kind of gummy when it is no longer hot and crispy.  It still tastes delicious, and it is very convenient to pick out a green bean or two every time I walk by my fridge.  It also makes me feel less guilty about my inability to cook food for just one person.  I don’t like to waste, so I eat gummy tempura.  One of the perks of living alone is that no one knew that I did this.  Now I blog.  The secret is out.

I also pickled some cauliflower, radishes, carrots and spring onions.  I picked these up at the farmers’ market last week, and it was about time I used them.  Pickled vegetables last forever, so I can make them in bulk and not feel at all guilty about it.  And they are delicious and not too terribly unhealthy.  And pickled radishes make an excellent garnish for all sorts of things.

DSCN1857

vegetables pickled in rice vinegar

Wednesday was CSA day.  I love CSA day.

Week 5

Week 5

I now have two bunches of leeks in the fridge, and some peaches and blueberries.  I think I might make tarts.  Separate tarts, because I don’t think leeks would do a blueberry peach tart any favors…

** Please pardon the crappy photography.  I don’t have a lovely fancy camera…I have a regular old point and shoot.  I like my regular old point and shoot.  Sometimes it takes amazing pictures, like this one

View from the Alhambra, Granada, Spain

View from the Alhambra, Granada, Spain

but food is a fickle beast, and point and shoots don’t do the job.  But you’re stuck with it for the moment.

2 thoughts on “In which I make tempura, pickled vegetables, and pick up my farm share…

  1. I cannot believe that you just admitted to your millions of readers that you eat gummy cold tempura! Ballsy. Ha! Only kidding.

  2. Mmmm… Are you going to share recipes / tips? Tempura has always seemed so fancy, but you make it look easy!

Leave a Reply

